Maryland Arrest Records and Warrant Search
Please fill in the form below to begin your Maryland criminal records search
According to Maryland General Assembly’s legislation passed on April 3, 2014, individuals, who are being accused of committing domestic abuse while children are present, will endure tougher penalties.
The previous domestic abuse legislature has already eased and reduced the burden of proof for victims of domestic abuse in order to receive court restraining orders. Second-degree assault in domestic abuse is also now added to the list of felonies that qualify for permanent restraining order to protect victims from their abusers.
This new law passed on April 3, 2014 grants a judge an authority to send an offender to jail for up to 5 years in cases of domestic abuse taking place near a minor of 2 years old and up who could hear or see the abuse.
O’Malley and Lt. Gov. Anthony G. Brown, who both pushed for the bill’s implementation, congratulated the General Assembly on passing the bill. Brown also said that the bill that gave the judges the option to give more jail time to those who commit domestic abuse crime at home in front of minors is the great measure of protecting children from abusers who put their lives in jeopardy.
The House’s 136-2 vote in favor of the bill concludes the domestic violence agenda of Gov. Martin O’Malley’s for the year of 2014.
Source: Baltimore Sun